Bhuliya Tomare – “Forgetting You”

Standard

“Bhuliya Tomare”

“Forgetting You”

Bhaktivinoda Thakura
(Poetic English verse)

 

Forgetting You, I entered this mortal domain,
Suffering myriad myriads of variegated pain;
At Your lotus feet  have I come,
I shall tell the tale of my sorrow and pain.

While lying in my mother’s womb,
Bound by the deadly shackles of confinement,
Once, O Lord, You blessed me with Your vision,
Then abandoned this hapless servant.

“Upon taking birth,” I acknowledge,
“Unto You, I shall do bhajana, I pledge!”
Being born, I fell into the matrix of illusion,
Hence came not a smidgin of knowledge.

Doted on as a child, in the lap of close kin,
I whiled away my time in amusement;
The pamper of parents made me forget,
The world began to taste “sweet.”

Gradually, day by day, I attained boyhood,
As carefree as ever as other boys did I play;
In a short while, as learning awakened,
I poured through my studies day after day.

From repute of learning, I saw many a country,
Gaining wealth along with great notoriety;
Supporting kinfolk wholeheartedly,
I all but forgot You, O Lord Hari!

Now in old age, Bhaktivinoda bewails,
Filled with deep anxiety and grief;
Not serving You, the days passed aimlessly—
Now, what will be my refuge for relief?

translation by TP Das

About TP Das

I am a initiated disciple of Prabhupada. I love to write, creatively and also to edit. My love of reading is for Vedic shastras like Jaiva Dharma, Bhagavatam, etc. My path is bhakti-yoga. I live mostly in India. The title for my blog comes from both Jack Kerouac's Dharma Bums and Bhaktivinoda Thakura's Jaiva Dharma (The Dharma of Souls). My instructing Gurus are Srila BR Sridhara and Srila BV Narayana. Haribol!

One response »

  1. Hare Krishna,

    I like this translation and this song which is a pleasant reminder of the Thakur before the appearance day of his beloved Gadadhar tomorrow. Please post more.

    Radhe Radhe

Leave a Reply

