Sri Caitanya and Gopi-Prema

Standard

Although the premika bhakta is the sole object of Sri Bhagavan’s prema, still Sri Bhagavan reciprocates with that devotee according to the degree that the devotee loves Him. The gopis are Sri Bhagavan’s eternally beloved associates, thus being the object of that eternally perfect, absolute bhagavata-prema, their glories are especially self-evident. Furthermore, by the word nitya we can see that the gopis are never even slightly disregarded by Sri Bhagavan. Sri Närada will further elucidate upon this topic in sri-goloka-mahatmya.

You may ask how the glories of this confidential subject matter can be ascertained when the exalted prema of the gopis is imperceptible to our mundane mind and intelligence? It is true gopi-prema is beyond the minds of even the great sages, but this becomes manifest itself by the special potency of the distinct incarnation of Sri Radha-Ramana-deva, that is, although Sri Caitanya-deva is personally Sri Krsna, nonetheless He especially descended to reveal prema-bhakti. Accordingly, He made the mood of the gopis become naturally evident, indicating that His mercy extends this gopi-prema unto everyone. Sri Caitanya’s continuous, manifest love for Sri Krsna made the gopis’ love for Sri Krsna also understandable. In other words, Bhagavan Sri Krsna as Sri Caitanya became influenced by the mood of the gopis, and after personally tasting that gopi-prema, disseminated it throughout the world. (BB, Vol. 1.1 purport)

About TP Das

I am a initiated disciple of Prabhupada. I love to write, creatively and also to edit. My love of reading is for Vedic shastras like Jaiva Dharma, Bhagavatam, etc. My path is bhakti-yoga. I live mostly in India. The title for my blog comes from both Jack Kerouac's Dharma Bums and Bhaktivinoda Thakura's Jaiva Dharma (The Dharma of Souls). My instructing Gurus are Srila BR Sridhara and Srila BV Narayana. Haribol!

3 responses »

  1. Pranams Prabhu ji,

    What is the connection more specifically with Sri Radha-Ramana ji and the distribution of gopi prema…because I am curious of the correlation between Srila Gurudeva’s ista deva, Sri Radha Raman Bihariji and Srila Gurudeva’s own mano bhista seva to his gurudeva….one time I asked Srila Gurudeva after a Badger class on Sanatana Siksa if I could use a pranam mantra for him that came to me during my service one kartika when I stayed back in Houston to preach, and in it the final line was “Gopi Bhava Pracarine…” he laid his hand on my shoulder as soon as I said it then walked off….so I take it he approved. What is the deeper significance of Radha Raman Bihariji and this inner mood of Srila Gurudeva?

Leave a Reply

