Sometimes, even devotees feel lonely

Standard

The question is, “How can devotees who have served for almost 4o years end up broke, alone and neglected?” It seems to be a real problem. Maybe it is meant to be that way some may say. Are we to end up alone and crying for Krishna? Or maybe it is only the gurus or acaryas that are to be looked out for, in the end? Hard questions. One way or another Krishna does not seem to make it any easier for longtime devotees, at least for those who do not have positions of prestige or disciples or money. Have we failed? We are not asking for fame or fortune, but our tears are not always visible either. And it’s not the chanting that seems to be hard, but it is the chanting that precedes feeling that appears hard. Krishna, Radha, Gurudeva, where are you? Tonight, don’t let the heart pain so much…

About TP Das

I am a initiated disciple of Prabhupada. I love to write, creatively and also to edit. My love of reading is for Vedic shastras like Jaiva Dharma, Bhagavatam, etc. My path is bhakti-yoga. I live mostly in India. The title for my blog comes from both Jack Kerouac's Dharma Bums and Bhaktivinoda Thakura's Jaiva Dharma (The Dharma of Souls). My instructing Gurus are Srila BR Sridhara and Srila BV Narayana. Haribol!

2 responses »

  1. Hare Krishna,
    Dandavats Tirtha pad-ji,

    I’m remembering the time we spent together last year in Vrindavan and Nabadwipe. Hearing your experiences brought a lot of insight and perspective to my own journey. I find myself in a similar place, without the physical presence of Gurudeva….
    I hope that your tears are heard by Srimate Radharani and Gaur-Gadadhar.
    sometime we will meet again.

    your friend,
    Abhirama

    • Dandavats, my dear friend, Abhiramaji,
      Yes, I remember well. Never will forget.
      I wish I could weep real tears. na prema gandho’smi
      More than anything I wish I could have pleased Gurudeva with
      my feeble service. We will definitely meet again. If not
      soon, one day on our journey to the center.
      your bandhu,
      Tirthapada

Leave a Reply

